Naptime

She should fall asleep any time now. We kept telling ourselves that throughout the 2-hour flight to Nashville. For most of it, she was pretty busy. I walked up and down the aisle with her. My husband walked up and down the aisle with her. She sat on my lap. She laid down on my husband’s lap. She had her pacifier in her mouth. She had her Sophie in her mouth. She played with the emergency information card. She played with a bag of pretzels. She smiled at the people sitting around us. She cried at us. It was that kind of flight.

Right when we were running out of ideas on how to calm her, she fell asleep. One minute she was wailing, the next minute she was asleep. One minute her eyes were open, the next they were closed. I laughed out loud, it was so absurd. How did she fall asleep so quickly? But don’t get me wrong, it was amazing. I’m sure the people around us were happy too.

Then, the person sitting next to me by the window asked if he could get out to use the bathroom. Well, so much for naptime.

3 thoughts on “Naptime

  1. mrssurridge says:

    Oh no!! It sounds like you did an amazing job being as considerate of those around you as possible. I’m thinking there were many who appreciated that.

    Like

Leave a comment