A Little Fall of Rain

On my walk this morning, it started to rain a little bit. A drizzle, while the sun peeked out of thick, pink clouds in the early morning light. A few other people braved this unpredictable weather, all of us unsure whether we should head back home or carry on. Would the rain stop? Would it rain harder? We didn’t know, so we proceeded to walk the dog or push the stroller or listen to music as the tiny droplets of rain freckled our shirts.

It was actually a pleasant sensation for the most part, like walking with a mister that followed you wherever you went. It kept the temperature down and the sun off of our faces and shoulders. Plenty of time for all of that later in the day…like now. No one seemed all that irked by the rain. It’s so refreshing to get a break from the bracing summer weather (humidity, sunshine, heat), that no one minded the rain.

At different points of my time outside, it rained harder and less hard. Always unexpectedly, but never enough to feel damp. Never enough to make me turn back; probably not even enough to make less-motivated exercisers stay indoors. Mostly enough to remind all of us that we could use more rain, and isn’t it nice that it’s not hot outside yet, and look at those beautiful clouds.

When I got home, my husband asked me if I got wet. “A little,” I replied.

(Title from the musical Les Miserables)

4 thoughts on “A Little Fall of Rain

  1. mphtheatregirl says:

    Les Mis is not just a musical. Les Mis holds a lot of meaning to me: it challenged a lot of things and disproved things that I once thought a musical was capable of. I was blind to heartbreak, tragic musical, and really though that death couldn’t be memorable or even happen through song. Les Mis is where my passion for musicals truly comes from

    Like

  2. mbhmaine says:

    I especially appreciate that even though you were walking alone, you were part of a community facing the intermittent rain together. This whole post has a lovely relaxed feel to it. Well done.

    Like

Leave a comment