Lost and Found

Over the summer, I was taking my new baby on a walk around the neighborhood across the street. It was hot, I had a light blanket thrown over the top to keep the sun off Baby’s face, and a fan blowing to keep her cool. It was a perfectly enjoyable walk.

When I got home, I noticed that her precious green Nuk pacifier was missing. Somehow it had fallen out of her mouth on the walk without me noticing. I was frustrated but knew there was no way to recover it. We ordered a new one (plus a few spares), and forgot about it.

Tonight, as we were walking around that same neighborhood, I saw something on top of the dog bag dispenser. As I got closer, I thought, no way, it can’t be. What is the chance? I  wordlessly pointed it out to my husband, and he couldn’t believe it either. All these months later, and there it was: the green Nuk pacifier.

5 thoughts on “Lost and Found

  1. Emily Culbertson says:

    Ha! I have found pacifiers everywhere now that we don’t need them anymore. I don’t know that I’ve had any survive outside over the winter, that’s pretty amazing. Oh baby stuff, sometimes I miss it!

    Like

  2. pbeuke says:

    Hooray! And thanks to the kind soul that placed it on top of the dog bag dispenser. So many connections to Nuks that have been lost over the years and to friendly people that help us reconnect with missing items! I can imagine the wordless point to your husband! We celebrated with you as readers at the conclusion of your story!

    Like

Leave a comment