Book Comparison Debates

This week, we spent most of our language and literature time on oral speaking skills. One objective that we need to focus on is comparing and contrasting features within and between texts. I felt like we hadn’t spent enough time with that (or with oral speaking skills, for that matter), so I decided to put my money (classroom time) where my mouth is.

I like offering some options, so students could present individually or in a group as part of a debate; most students chose the debate. They picked two books that they had read to compare and contrast; the debate groups needed to pick two books that everyone had read (which was definitely more challenging!). 

On Monday, students made a Venn diagram to compare and contrast the two books, through our key and related concepts (creativity, character, and point of view).

On Tuesday, they decided which side to argue (the books are similar or the books are different), and I taught them how to write short bullet points on a notecard to use during their presentations. They also had time to practice what they were going to say, starting with a model, where I showed them how to take their notes and turn them into a full speech, with explanations for each bullet point (because nobody wants to listen to a presentation where the speaker just reads off of his or her notecard!).

On Thursday, they presented. The debate groups gave their initial presentation and then had a few minutes to craft a rebuttal to what their opposing group members had said. The presentations took more than 45 minutes, so we needed a whole class period. In general, the students did a great job with them! They had a lot of good comparisons and contrasts, many of which went beyond the obvious (characters’ genders, ages, etc.). Most of the students spoke well in front of their classmates, looking up and only using their notecards as a reference.

In the future, I would spread these presentations out over several days, with one or two groups presenting each day because it was a lot of sitting and listening, which is hard for everyone. I have had students present in small groups before (so students only have to listen to a few presentations), and I like that and know that my students do too. The problem is that then I can’t watch all of the presentations, which I need to do to assess them. I could have one student in each group record the presentation. I bet that if I asked the students, they could help me figure out a way to make it better for everyone.

All in all, a great way to discuss books and practice speaking in front of a group.

Leave a comment