Pockets

My friend and shopping companion was so excited to go into this store. She said that it was her kind of store. And it was. The walls were a muted grey. All of the racks of clothes were the same height. The racks were perpendicular to each other. The salespeople were present but unassuming. Most of the clothes were in neutral colors: black, white, tan, navy.

My friend touched everything. Exclaimed over all of the dresses and tops and pants and earrings and bags and hair clips. She was excited to be in a store that so completely embodied her sense of style.

None of it was really my style. I don’t wear a lot of neutrals. Most of the clothes were more European than the clothes that I wear. Most of the clothes didn’t interest me very much.

One dress, however, caught my eye. It was easily the most colorful dress in the store: navy, orange, white, yellow, red. It was shorter in the front and longer in the back; I love high-low dresses. It was the only thing I was really interested in. When I went to try it on, I wasn’t sure about it. Once it was on, though, I knew. I knew that it was going to be my new dress. I just wanted to hang out in it while my friend tried on her clothes. So I did.

And an added bonus: the dress has pockets.

3 thoughts on “Pockets

  1. shawndastories says:

    As a teacher, I don’t understand why ALL dressed don’t have pockets. I know exactly how you feel about those bonus pockets. I love the way you describe the dress and how you went from unsure to certain about it in the last paragraph.

    Like

  2. Radutti says:

    Bonus pockets rule. “It was shorter in the front and longer in the back; I love high-low dresses. It was the only thing I was really interested in.” I’m not a fashion aficionado but your description really helped me to see the dress. Perhaps I now know what a high-low dress is! 🙂

    Thank you for your tireless and thoughtful commenting this month. It definitely helped to keep me going! Enjoy the rest of your year and keep writing!

    Like

Leave a comment