Ode

You quicken by breath.

You quicken my heart.

You make me sweat.

You make me move.

You whip the wind through my hair.

You whip up my legs.

You help me smell the fresh air and springtime flowers.

You help me appreciate nature.

You change my body.

You change my mood.

You give me the space to think.

You give me the space to stop thinking.

You allow me to think only about me.

You allow me to have energy for my family.

You increase my laundry.

You increase my lung capacity.

You get me up early.

You get me out of the house.

You wear through my shoes.

You wear through my muscles

You use up my iPod battery.

You recharge my battery.

You make me happy.

Running.

 

6 thoughts on “Ode

  1. ELIZABETH RYAN says:

    What a great ode. We often write odes to our Moms for mothers day. I’m coming back to yours as a mentor piece and to inspire me to run more.

    Like

Leave a comment