A New Read Aloud

 

 

It’s the first day back after Spring Break, the start of a new unit, and the start of a new read aloud book (yay!). We started reading The Thing About Jellyfish. It’s such a beautifully-written book with a character that has a passion for learning that goes just a bit too far. As my students are embarking on their own learning projects this unit, I felt like it was a good story to share with them.

We had a really amazing conversation about a sentence on the first page: “A person can become invisible simply by being quiet.” We talked about whether we agreed or disagreed with the statement. We talked about whether invisible was being used literally or metaphorically by the author. We talked about how we could reword the sentence to make it “better” (clearer, more true, etc.). We talked about the difference between being invisible and being ignored. It was such a deep conversation about such a short and seemingly simple sentence.

I love discussions like this. I love when my read aloud book provides us with the writing to have discussions like this. I hope we find many more sentences like this to guide deep discussions on meaning and author’s craft.

slice-of-life_individual

7 thoughts on “A New Read Aloud

  1. jumpofffindwings says:

    I love The Thing about Jellyfish, and I cried. I was coming home from the ALAN Workshop in Atlanta after hearing Ali Benjamin speak (another connection to your trip;-). It sounds like you and your kids have great conversations right down to the importance of single-word choices, so deep.

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Pruett says:

    It sounds like the beginning of some interesting and thoughtful discussions about a wonderful book. Have fun reading it with your kiddos!

    Like

  3. parkers says:

    What a wonderful discussion. The part you shared about being “invisible by being quiet” is making me want to buy the book. I’m so excited about the engagement it sparked in your classroom.

    Like

  4. mgminer says:

    Love, love, love that book!! I hope your students really dig in and think. I felt changed after reading it and felt a little bit sad that I teach K-5 and wouldn’t be able to share it. Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a comment