My Storybook

Are you looking for a way for your students to create beautiful books on their own? Then My Storybook is a good website for you! This is a student-friendly, easy-to-use, drag-and-drop website that allows students to publish their writing and share it easily with authentic audiences via email or social media.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.27.32 PM

Students can also print their stories to keep or put into a portfolio. There is a $5 fee for downloading the ebook, but it is an option if you, your students, or their families are interested.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.20.21 PM

But before they can publish their stories, students have to create them! There are four tools for students to use: items, draw, text, and scene.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.14.06 PM

“Items” include clip art and cartoons to add to your story. You can also upload your own images, including drawings, photos, or images from the internet. There is some variety in the available items, but not a lot; it’s good that there is an option for students to do their own illustrations and upload them into their book.

“Draw” allows students to draw directly in their books, using a variety of tools and colors. If students don’t want to upload their own images, this is a great option.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.17.27 PM

“Text” is where students can type up their stories. There are limited options for text customization, but font, size, and color should be enough for most students.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.17.49 PM

Finally, “Scene” gives students options for backgrounds on their pages. Students can pick a different color scene for each page or no scene. Students can draw and add text and items on top of scenes.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.18.17 PM

I didn’t use this with my whole class last year, but I did make it an option for students on their homework projects. I had one student use it, and she said that it was fun and easy to use. I would like to increase my students’ opportunities for typing their writing and sharing it with authentic audiences; My Storybook does both of those for me, so I plan on using it more this year.

Students need a login to save their work. You could have students use their own email addresses, if they have them, or you can have students login using a shared email. Since my school doesn’t provide email addresses, I created a Gmail account for my class to use on websites like this, and it worked really well last year. This website is good for any age student, though it is geared more toward elementary-aged students.

Check out the product I created as an exemplar for the Million Dollar Project.Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 4.21.48 PM

Want to see what using My Storybook looks like in real time? Check out my screencast of My Storybook.

Leave a Reply

