What a Dud #sol17

After yesterday’s amazing lesson, I knew the magic couldn’t last forever.  I did a lesson today that just tanked.  I could not get out of the lesson fast enough; it was such a dud.

We were talking about literary genres and how to identify them. I try to make my lessons inquiry-based, so students had a couple of short passages, all of the same genre, to help them try to identify the genre and its characteristics.  I even chose three that I thought would be more accessible since this is a skill that they struggle with: biography, fantasy, and poetry.

Well, it didn’t work.  None of the groups was able to identify their genre, and when asked about the characteristics of that genre, I got some really shallow responses (they both have characters; they both take place outside).  Groan.

I don’t know if it was that I didn’t provide enough scaffolding for the students or they were off today or what it was.  I’m going to table this lesson and try again next week.

6 thoughts on “What a Dud #sol17

  1. Donna Smith says:

    I love this! Yeah, sometimes it is like that. And you have to take a step back and scrutinize yourself, the lesson, the prior lessons, the timing, the kids, the lunch, the weather, the…. you know! The everything! And you just neatly, roll it up and throw it away. Lesson learned. Do over. That’s what the kids do ALL the time! And that’s what good teachers do ALL the time, too!
    Congratulations, another dud down the tubes! You know, we have to do those to have the others so great!

    Like

  2. wahooteacher says:

    One of the things that I really loved about this slice was how you are already thinking about how you would approach this lesson again. While this lesson may not have gone as well as you would have liked today, you’ve identified areas that you want to work on and you’ve already started troubleshooting in preparation for the next time that you teach this lesson.

    Like

  3. mkrueger says:

    This is so relatable! No matter how much prep we put into a lesson, sometimes it just doesn’t work. And that’s okay! The kids never notice. On the other end, I think sometimes lessons that I didn’t think would be good turn out amazing. Or kids make a lesson out of a read aloud. It goes both ways!

    Like

  4. hansonberries says:

    I agree with all of these replies. Putting yourself out there and sharing the fact that your lesson didn’t go well takes courage! Sometimes things don’t work out and if the kids did notice, I think it is okay for them to see that we too, aren’t always successful. They will appreciate your new lesson that much more when it does as you plan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

