A Loud Quiet at the Airport #sol17

Something weird happened this morning.  I don’t think I’ve ever experienced it before.  I was so intrigued and surprised that I probably lingered a little too long.  It was such a blissfully quiet experience in an otherwise stressful, crowded place that it stuck out like a sore thumb.

I was at the airport at 5:30 this morning (I know, I know, it was really, really early).  But the airport was hopping!  It felt like Times Square on New Year’s Eve.  Ok, it probably wasn’t really like that, but at 5:30 AM, any number of people feels like a lot of people.  It was clearly the first Sunday of Spring Break in Nashville (from where I was departing).

So where was this blissfully quiet location in what felt like Times Square on NYE? The women’s restroom.  I don’t think I’ve ever been completely alone in the women’s restroom at the airport before.  It was weird.  And quiet.  And weird.  The silence seemed very loud.  I’m not sure why this experience has stuck with me today, but it has.  The things you notice when you are sleep deprived, I guess.  Cheers to everyone traveling today, and I hope everyone gets a little piece and quiet wherever they are going.

6 thoughts on “A Loud Quiet at the Airport #sol17

  1. ccahill2013 says:

    Your title freeware me in!! Then your story kept me there. So interesting to think about a place that is both loud and quiet. You’ve got me thinking about places like that…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

