Just Like Real Siblings #sol17

We’ve been replaced.  Since becoming empty-nesters, my parents have slowly filled up their house with pets.  They currently have one dog and two cats.  We have a complicated relationship.

The dog, Lacey, seems to like me because dogs love everybody; they aren’t as discerning.  One cat, Lilly, is fairly friendly and will allow me to pet her occasionally, if I have been good.   The other cat, Lucy, usually stays hidden in my mom’s closet until I leave.  We are not on particularly good terms, for some reason.  This trip, though, it’s been 24 hours, and she is out!  I don’t know what I did to deserve all this attention, but hey, I’ll take it.

Since I don’t have any pets myself, I find their behavior fascinating.  Lilly will curl up in a basket that is much too small for her in order to sit in front of the fireplace.  Lacey will sit on the back of the couch because…the cats do it.  Lucy, well, I’m just pleased to see her out and about.  She can sleep through anything…while sitting on the back of the couch, of course.

I was getting ready to write my slice about my furry siblings, but Lacey had other ideas.  I put my hand down to pet her and told her that now was not a good time to jump up into my lap.  Of course, she immediately jumped into my lap.  So now I’m holding my computer in the air while the dog sits quite comfortably where my computer was a second ago.  I try to accommodate her by letting her sit there while I set my laptop on her back.  She didn’t like that.  Now, the dog is on the couch glaring at me, and my laptop is back in my lap.  Apparently I can annoy the pets without too much effort.  Just like real siblings.

slice-of-life_individualnew-slicer-badgepantser-image

 

Leave a Reply

