Ray of Sunshine #sol17

My name is Andrea, and this is my first Slice of Life Challenge.  I am a 5th grade teacher in Austin, TX, and while I love to teach writing, I am not that much of a writer in my personal time.  I am trying to get in the habit of writing on a regular basis, so hopefully these 31 days will inspire me to want to write more.

So, it’s a busy week at school.  We have report cards due, parent-teacher conferences, Spirit Week, and the end of a unit.  I feel like I have been running around like a chicken with my head cut off all week, and it’s only Wednesday.  My slice today is a little ray of sunshine in this hailstorm of a week.

I have a self-paced math class, which I normally love because everyone can do his/her own thing, and I can work one-on-one with students.  I love these moments with students because I feel like I can really focus on them and connect with them about math.  Lately, however, it has felt more like everyone just needs me all the time for everything; there just doesn’t seem to be a lot of independence.  Today, one of my more dependent students was working on multiplying decimals by decimals, a tricky subject for even my most mathematically-suave students.  He usually needs a lot of direction from me, but, surprisingly, he was working on his own.  I glanced at his paper and noticed that he was getting correct answers, so I stopped to ask him about how he was solving the problems.  Without any prompting from me, he correctly explained his thought process.  It was simple, and it made sense.  I was so proud of him, not only for understanding the procedure but for how independent he was with it.  Proud teacher moment.

slice-of-life_individual

One thought on “Ray of Sunshine #sol17

  1. Carrie Cahill says:

    Hi Andrea! Welcome to the Slice of Life community! You start out by saying you’re not much of a writer. I have to disagree. Yes, it’s something we make time for and improve in as we do – but your slice drew me in immediately. It was so personal – as if it was written directly to me. Can’t wait to read more about your life – it sounds like your teaching life has great rewards!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

